Birds of a Feather Flock Together

We just recently tried this small group at my Church, we have felt led to meet others in our walk with God.  I am a very shy person, at first.  This was definitely getting out of our comfort zone.  What is your comfort zone of friends?  Do you feel like your click uplifts you or brings you down?  Do you feel like they are good influences or bad influences?  Are you a free bird in the flock or are you just freeing your flesh.

“The righteous should choose his friends carefully, For the way of the wicked leads them astray.”  Proverbs 12:26

Comfortably Bored

There are all types of friends.  I have had many types in my 27 years of life. I like different people and I like to be different and sometimes that would not be good for me.  In high school, I had youth group friends that went to my school so it was nice to have them in those tough times, it was a routine thing and I got too comfortable and bored.  In college however a whole new breed of friends began showing up in my life.  I was so intrigued by the differences in experiences life had to offer us.  Some friends were so outgoing and adventurous.  Friends that had money and friends that did not.  Friends that were academically motivated and others that wanted to party EVERY night.  Out of all of the friends I had added into my “New Click” none of them were Christian.  I wasn’t going to church as much and honestly was more focused on myself and “experiencing” different things.  My friends were sucking me down and my most important friend in my life, I pushed aside and that was Christ.

“Do not be deceived: Evil company corrupts good habits.  Awake to righteousness, and do not sin; for some do not have the knowledge of God.” 1 Corinthians 15:33-34

Flesh Free, Spirit Caged

These new birds in my flock I loved dearly, now not all friends have love for you.  Some are friends if they can take more than give.  I became a new bird, a bird that I though was free.  Free to have fun, and do whatever I wanted.  My spirit wasn’t happy but my flesh was.  My spirit became locked in a cage while my flesh was free to roam the world.

Caged_Bird_in_Tree

Find Your Christian Flock

I spent many years in the dark, and after surrendering my life back to God I started to loose friends, I became disinterested in the things I once did, so my friends became disinterested in me.  I would do it everyday to be close to God.  It was a nice experience to be surrounded in a small group with other followers and believe it or not, I wasn’t board or comfortable!  It was new and exciting.  God will provide you with the right people.  This time I am keeping my Christian birds.  I have my husband but we need friends to keep us accountable and to talk about God with.  It was truly a blessing to us to meet them.  It is so important to get uncomfortable, it adds excitement and progression.  No challenge = No change.  I challenge you to meet new Christians, if you have them, start a study group and meet more.  Invite people to your study group, and expand your flock. GET UNCOMFORTABLE, try new things (God centered and wholesome)  It is amazing the blessings in your life when you follow the lead of the Holy Spirit and die to flesh.

With Love,

Her Heart

 

 

Leave a Reply

