Two are Better Than One. Finding a Friend, and Being a Good One.

I had a few names, loner, new girl, quiet one and was called the shy girl.  When in actuality my friends now will tell you that I am crazy, funny and goofy.  If you have ever been this type of introvert you understand my past hiding because I was scared that I would not be accepted.  We moved around ALOT, my parents had me at a very young age and financial stability came at a later age in life.  My parents took care of me, they made sure I had the necessities.  I am grateful for my parents.  I couldn’t imagine raising a baby at age 21!  I’m 27 now and still wondering where “having a baby” money is going to come from.   I was always new and I never had a “bestfriend” that lasted more than a few months.  I admire people that I have met, still friends with their middle school buds.

I met a friend in college, whom she has always been there for me, it was like she was God sent!  I was able to be my silly self and still be respected.  You know when you meet someone and you just click like you have been friends your whole life! That was her!  God knew I would need her, we all need some one.  She was a Christian and has helped me through so many life struggles.  Even when I was falling away from the Lord she was still there.  When you go through life without someone to be real with you can become lonely, and so separate from the world that it can become addicting.  You feel like you cannot trust anyone, or that no one will understand what your going through. This is when the enemy will tell you things like he told me. “No one likes you, you are not interesting, no one loves you.”  It’s a LIE!  I have a previous post about overcoming an enemy attack if you think you need it.  Friends help each other and she helped me.

“As iron sharpens iron, So a man sharpens the countenance of his friend.”

Proverbs 27:17

My Relationship with God As Example

Having a relationship with God really helped me understand what true friendship is.  God loves us unconditionally, you can talk to him about anything without judgement and he will move mountains for us.  There are many examples even in the bible of what a good friend is.  The Gospel of mark tells us a story about four men who helped their friend find Jesus, the carried him because he couldn’t walk through a crowd and even made a hole in the roof above Jesus, they loved their friend so much.  Jesus healed this man and he could walk again.  Their dedication to their friend, healed him and saved him.   Mark 2:1-12.

We NEED friends like this and to be a friend like this.

 “Two are better than one; because they have a good reward for their labor.  For if they fall, the one will lift up his fellow: but woe to him that is alone when he falleth; for he hath not another to help him up.”  Ecclesiastes 4:9-10

Where Is My Friend

Where do we find them?  I would start in prayer, if you pray in faith for God to lead you to a friend or a friend be led to you it will open the door to find that friend.  Even in marriage.  If you find your other half in God they can be that friend to you.  Church groups often can be a great source of this type of friendship.  An Agape Friend in Christ.

Forgiving Our Friends

In order for our friendships to last, we must have forgiveness.  God is also a great example of this!  We are human, and we make mistakes.  We are learning about ourselves in our walk with God and we have to remember that our friends are too.  Our walk as Christians can be learning curves throughout.  Unforgivness seems to be the main reason why friendship never last these days.  The world is so wrapped up in drama.  “I will never forgive them for that.”  There is girl code, guy codes, but we for get about GOD CODE…forgiveness.

“Then Peter came to him and said, Lord, how often shall my brother sin against me, and I forgive him? Up to seven times?” Jesus said to him. “I do not say to you, up to seven times, but up to seventy times seven.”         Matthew 18:21-22

A Friend You Love

We should not befriend someone just because of what they give to us.  Real friends do not keep tabs or remember what that person “owes” them.  Friendships are a give and take.  It is a mutual support system.  Believe it or not some people “love” others because of what they get out of the relationship.  A friend loves at all times, not just when they can use them for weekend boat trips, or because they get cheap flights for working with the airlines, they love you for who you are and what you have been through together.  We are blessed with adverse friends, poor or rich.  Quiet or loud.  We learn from each other.  We must not give up on them.  It is not easy.

“A friend loves at ALL times, and a brother is born for adversity.”  Proverbs 17:17

Jesus he had 12 disciples of adversity.  He considered them not just followers, but friends.  I hope this helps you find a friend or appreciate a friend!  I am much happier with my friends in God then when I was a lone wolf.  Now we are a pack and stronger in our walks with God.  thRXBZ19EFWith Love,

Her Heart

 

Leave a Reply

