Is Cussing a Sin?

Cursing Christians???

I have wondered this myself at one time or another when I wasn’t really walking with God, it was more of a keeping him on the back burner type of relationship.  Where’s the love right? no one is perfect.  We all slip up and make mistakes.  This seemed like a great topic because in our world today you see curse words and bad language everywhere and of course its a fad right now.  Its a rebel cool type of fad, you can even buy shirts with profanity on it and they sell…good.  This my friends, is a great example of how the enemy has the world in its grips. Cursing was only used by the uneducated and in some backwoods parts of the country.  In a time we would never broadcast or print profanity in fear that the women and children would hear and corrupt them.  Man are we out of hand now.

So the first thing I do when I have a question is….GO TO THE BIBLE!  Riveting to some but here is what I found.

Scriptures about Cursing:

Ephesians 4:29

“Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that is may benefit those who listen.”

1Peter 3:10

“For whoever would love life and see good days must keep his tongue from evil and his lips from deceitful speech.”

James 3:9-12

“With the tongue we praise the Lord and Father, and with it we curse men, who have been made in God’s likeness.  Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing.  My brothers, this should not be.  Can both fresh water and salt water flow from the same spring?  My brothers, can a fig tree bear olives, or a grapevine bear figs?  Neither can a salt spring produce fresh water.”

Luke 6:45

“The good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and the evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart.  For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks.”

What is in your heart?

Our speech indicates what is in our hearts.  Still not sure?  I looked up the definition of sin,  here is what it said.  Sin: an immoral act considered to be a transgression against divine law. Synonyms of sin: wrong, act of evil, transgression, offense, misdeed etc.. Cussing/Cursing/Profanity is a sin.  If you feel any conviction, that is the Holy Spirit telling you its wrong as well.  When you stop feeling convicted is when you should worry!  I WAS THERE ONCE.

When I graduated high school…many, many years ago, lets just say more than a few.  I started curiously going on the wrong side of the fence, I moved away to the beach and moved in with some fun party girls.  The more I got curious, the more things I tried and  the farther away I got from him.  I became so wrapped up in the worldly stuff that soon my bible was in a packed box somewhere and my conviction no where to be felt.  Even after years of being close to him through a rocky childhood.  I was such a sailor mouth and I was in such a bad place.  People would be very surprised if I said I was a Christian living the way I was.  Yes, I know I added another notch to the Hypocrite stereotype.  I was in a downward hill spiral and life was not going well.  Soon after many years of living this way my favor did not last, and God had to get my attention again and unfortunately that requires us to hit rock bottom and I am glad he did it.  My old sinful self was never this happy…ever.

Once I found a way back over to God’s side of the fence it was an immediate change in me.  I stopped cussing (with a bit of work) and I just felt better in my spirit.  I know its hard, even harder when you don’t surrender everything.  We want to still fit in and be accepted but I am telling you, there is nothing there.  Well, I hope you still like me after this blog, I hope it helped you in some way.

With Love

Her Heart

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

